Review: Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Cruel Beauty
Rosamund Hodge
Published January 28th 2014

Balzar + Bray/HarperTeen
3.5 stars

So this book started off super and then trailed off towards the end. Cruel Beauty is set in a Greek-mythology inspired world; I loved all the references to the Gods and all of the mythology that the author included and dropped in. As someone who loves mythology, I particularly loved the rich detail and classical allusions.

I initially loved our main character, Nyx – she was bitter, cruel and filled with hate for her family, who had sacrificed her to fulfill a bargain made with the Gentle Lord, a demon who our main character was betrothed to.

This book was almost a retelling of the classic fairy tale, Beauty and the Beast, but not quite; the beast was not such a beast at all, and once Nyx began to discover more about Ignifex’s background and story, I began to fall in love with this gorgeously detailed character.

The mythology was perfect, the characters so alive, but I feel like Rosamund Hodge may have tackled too much in terms of the plot. This book is confusing and at many times, I felt like skipping pages as I was so lost with where this book was heading. In terms of the ending, a typical trait in YA fiction was used that I really hate – the ‘memory’ plot. For those who have read this book, you’ll know what I mean! I realise that Nyx, our main character, had to sacrifice certain things in order to save the world – literally – but I still found myself being annoyed at her decisions and choices.

The ending was not satisfying enough – we got our happy ending but it sadly did not deliver in a way that shocked me and made me feel something. However, despite this, I couldn’t help loving the relationship between Nyx and Ignifex, the amazing mythological allusions which really sucked me in and the way that this book was written as a whole.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t ‘wowed’ by this book, which is disappointing, as it held so much potential up until half way. An enjoyable YA read, however, and one which those who enjoy fairy tale retellings, romance and mythology will definitely enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Review: Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

  1. Love a bit of Greek mythology in fiction (although if I read this I will bear in mind the points you made about it trailing off). Still, quite intrigued by it 🙂

Leave a Reply

